21 House Science Members Call for Robust DOE Office of Science Budget

Science Committee Democrats
2 min readAug 15, 2022



(Washington, DC) — Last week, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Energy Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight Bill Foster (D-IL), and 19 other Members of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology issued a letter to the Biden Administration calling for a robust budget request for the Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Science in Fiscal Year 2024 and beyond, consistent with the landmark CHIPS and Science Act that President Biden signed into law last week.

The following 19 Science Committee Members also signed the letter:

· Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)

· Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)

· Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA)

· Rep. Haley Stevens (D-MI)

· Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-NJ)

· Rep. Melanie Stansbury (D-NM)

· Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA)

· Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)

· Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)

· Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)

· Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ)

· Rep. Donald S. Beyer Jr. (D-VA)

· Rep. Sean Casten (D-IL)

· Rep. Conor Lamb (D-PA)

· Rep. Deborah K. Ross (D-NC)

· Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI)

· Rep. Dan Kildee (D-MI)

· Rep. Susan Wild (D-PA)

· Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX)

“As we have stated previously in numerous hearings, including one on April 27 with Under Secretary Richmond, the climate emergency before us demands ambitious proposals that leverage every tool at the Federal government’s disposal to accelerate our transition to a clean energy future,” said Subcommittee on Energy Chairman Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight Bill Foster (D-IL), and 19 other Members in the letter. “To that end, we greatly appreciate the increased level of support the Administration has pursued for other DOE programs that are focused on advancing clean energy technologies. To be clear: we do not wish to see those other programs reduced or pitted against the Office of Science. On the contrary, we hope to see further increases in ambition — and ask the Administration to recognize the equally vital importance of the Office of Science to the project of kickstarting a clean energy revolution, and to bolstering the health, well-being, and creative capacities of the American people.”



Science Committee Democrats

U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space, and Technology